Kate’s Chatterings

I woke up this morning, early, before 7am, freezing because we haven’t turned the heat on yet, and Nathan stole all my covers. I “roll” out of bed with a belly that I swear gets bigger and bigger everyday! I throw on my huge, furry, pink, makes-me-look-like-a-bunny bathrobe and socks to get me warmed up. Man, that rooster’s going crazy out there! I then go to the kitchen and warm up yesterday morning’s leftover coffee because I have this weird, compulsive need to drink that before I make more. I can’t waste that expensive coffee. The thing is, there is always leftover coffee, so I drink old coffee every morning. Why I don’t just make less in the mornings is a mystery! Next on my list of things to do today: yoga, homemade oatmeal with apples, make a loaf of bread, clean the bathroom (Tuesday chore), walk some hills outside (when the sun’s up), wash my hair (it’s been 3 days since the last time), other kitchen duties (including changing over my kefir grains, feeding my sourdough, prepping dinner, etc), and I have a to-do list sitting around here somewhere, and I think it’s full of stuff for today. But first:

On pregnancy and birth… I’m pregnant, 21 weeks along. We are planning a home birth right here in the Ozark House which will occur somewhere around February 10th. Now before you FREAK OUT, let me tell you why we have come to this decision. First of all, if you know Nathan and I well, you know we gravitate towards the more natural way of doing things anyways. That’s why I am pregnant now. I wasn’t on the pill, and we were doing a natural family planning method as a means of birth control. Well, we got a little lazy with it, and there you go. Also, we believe that the woman’s body is completely capable to birth and was made for it by God Himself. Pregnancy IS NOT an illness! Therefore, there is no need for the hospital, doctors, or drugs. In most cases, a healthy woman’s birth is not a medical event. When it is, when there are complications, doctors and hospitals are wonderful, skilled, and talented, and I thank God for them. But in normal births, with no complications, they are just over-kill. And for me, I want to birth somewhere cozy, comfortable, and familiar-that’s home. So we’ve hired a midwife, not an ob-gyn, and she is wonderful! She has delivered over 75 births at home, and has had 6 babies herself. She actually just had her 6th a couple weeks ago. She is so nurturing and confident, and she knows her stuff! Also, we aren’t finding out the sex of the baby until he or she is born. We love surprises!

The Business of Being Born-watch this documentary!

The Bradley Method-I’m doing this method for the birth.

I love Sara’s explanation of birth here.

Keeping myself and my baby healthy…Because I’m doing this birth mostly on my own, it’s important for me to really take care of myself to prepare for the labor and birth and to keep myself and our baby healthy. I try to do yoga everyday. The stretching and breathing that is incorporated in yoga is so helpful for birthing. I also try to stay active by doing alot of walking. There is a massive, steep hill by our house, so I walk up and down that a few times and my heart-rate gets going! I also do pilates 3 times a week. My diet consists of raw milk (that’s right, straight from the cow’s utters!), probiotic foods such as kefir and yogurt, grass-fed beef, wild salmon, plenty of fruits and veggies (local and organic when possible), whole grains-we actually grind our own flour out of the raw grain and make all of our breads and baked goods from that. I eat alot of beans, eggs (from OUR chickens), cheese, etc. It’s so important for pregnant woman to get more protein and calcium. Oats are a main part of my diet as well. I get in lots of good, healthy fats, mostly coconut oil. I also use olive oil and eat nuts and seeds. I do my best to avoid processed white flour and refined sugar. I sweeten my foods with sucanat, raw honey, and maple syrup. I drink alot of red raspberry leaf tea…

Red Raspberry Leaf: the best known and quintessential herb for pregnancy. Brewed as a tea or as an infusion, it contains fragrine, an alkaloid, which gives tone to the muscles of the pelvis and uterus. The benefits of this toning action include: prevention of miscarriage and false labor, reduction of pain during and after birth, production of more effective contractions during labor and therefore a faster birth, and prevention of postpartum hemorrhage or bleeding. Red Raspberry is also an rich source of vitamins A, B complex, C, and E, as well as the minerals calcium, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, and potassium. These nutrients make it an excellent prevention and treatment for anemia and leg cramps, as well as a beneficial remedy for the reduction of morning sickness. The high mineral content also assists in the production of breast milk. (info from Birth Junkie)

When I can, I soak my grains overnight to reduce the phytic acid content. I may have to write a post about this later because most of you just thought, “WHAT?” For more info, click here.

WELL, now that you think I’m a freak….haha. I hope you don’t. I do live my life more like an amish or mennonite person than your typical american gal. But I really am a pretty cool, not weird, girl. Oh! I almost forgot to tell you. The baby’s kicking, and ALL-THE-TIME! It’s a marvelous feeling. I also forgot to mention that I’ve been blessed with the easiest pregnancy ever, so far. I never got sick, not even once! God’s been so, so good to me.

This entry was posted in Kate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kate’s Chatterings

  1. Sarah says:

    Yay you!! Please keep the updates coming, including all the awesome health stuff you’re doing – love it 🙂

  2. KATE!! Congratulations on the baby!!! I can testify you are one of the sweetest people I have ever met!! I am praying for your little family and I hope the best! You are SO very brave and I am so glad you are doing what you KNOW God wants for you and your family! Such an inspiration!! Love you girl!

  3. Will says:

    I have a phrase for pain killers Katedog: “Common Grace” but I know you guys don’t care 🙂 keep updating!

  4. Hannah Lewiston says:

    Hey Kate!
    Thought I’d click over here to see how you guys are doing – I just heard last week that you’re pregnant! That’s awesome!!! Just wanted to leave a word of encouragement for the home birth, too. 🙂 I had all three of our babies at home with a midwife and I’ve loved everything about it. I realize it’s not for everyone, but it “fits” our personality, too. 🙂 And goodness, it sounds like you are taking SUPER good care of yourself – that’ll be a huge plus for your labor and recovery (good job!).
    I’ll be praying for you (and Nathan) as you walk through this wonderful journey of preparing and delivering your sweet babe! I look forward to hearing about the birth story (I mean, I totally understand if you don’t post anything, but I will so read it if you do – I’m kind of a “birth junky”!).

    Bless you guys,
    Hannah Lewiston

    P.S. about the NFP – we’ve used that method since we first married, and i think we’ve finally “gotten it”. 😛

  5. Caroline Brown says:

    kate, a woman after my heart. i loved business of being born. i have a book you HAVE to read. it’s called eve’s revenge: woman and the spirituality of the body by lillian calles barger. it’s incredible. birth is not an illness-amen! i can’t wait to hear how it goes. this will be your greatest physical achievement, perhaps the greatest achievement of your life! and you are capable of you, you were made for it! love you!!!!!

  6. Benny Baby says:

    Great post Kate. I’m so impressed with the amount of thought yall put into the food you eat. When we come visit I have got to try some of that straight up cows milk. Can’t wait to see yall this weekend.

  7. Dena OLiver says:

    I loved reading your post! It made me happy…I am so proud of you Kate!

  8. patti bibel says:

    Kate! You know we had Amy @ home w/ a midwife. It was an awesome experience! Especially for the first baby. We had her in the bathtub, last minute. Ends up it was a blessing because clean up was much easier. Nothing cozy about blood in bed…placenta and all. Just sayin. Love you Kate.

  9. Joy Robertson says:

    hey woman!
    im not even close to the whole pregnancy thing, but i think i may be changing my mind on the whole thing..or learning a lot, atleast. thanks for sharing sweet girl, i clicked on a couple of the links. SO excited for you and nathan!!

  10. Lori Safstrom says:

    Kate Love,

    You don’t have to convince me you’re a cool gal. I love reading these writings of yours. I respect you and the choices you make. Thank you for being you. I’m praying for you guys and this gift of a baby.

    Also…. I wish I could walk those hills with you.

  11. Anna Miller says:

    Kate!

    I absolutely LOVE you post and all the things you are doing to keep your little family healthy! You’re an amazing young lady and I miss you so much! I can’t wait to see baby pictures! 🙂

    Anna

Your thoughts here. As long as they're not vulgar. Or spam.

