Greasy hair, oily face, and a round belly…

Hey guys! It’s Kate. How do you like my title? Classy, I know. I am 23 weeks pregnant today! Here are a few, 23 week belly pics…

Okay, enough of that…So…about that greasy hair. That’s right! I’m trying a little experiment. I’m not washing my hair, at all, for a month. I’m trying the “No-Poo Method” Read about it here and here and here. My goal is to get to a point where I don’t have to wash my hair very often, and when I do, it will be with baking soda and water. That means no stupid chemicals, no spending money on fancy organic, natural shampoo, and super low-maintenance hair. I haven’t washed my hair since last Friday, October 8th. So tomorrow, I will not have washed it for a whole week! The results so far? My hair’s greasy, of course! It doesn’t smell, though. Obviously there is a transition period because when you shampoo regularly, your scalp has to make up for the oils you’ve been stripping. The method promises that once that transition period is over, your natural oils balance out and you are left with clean, non-greasy hair that’s manageable, beautiful, soft and all kinds of other wonderful things! We shall see. I’ll keep you updated…

On a similar note, the same is true for our faces. Washing the delicate skin on our faces works the same way. We strip the oils off, so more is produced, and therefore, we’re slaves to those expensive washes, and still left with oily skin in the end! And let’s not even talk about the weird chemicals they put in that stuff. YUCK! The answer: the “Oil Cleanse Method” Check it out here. In this method, you actually cleanse your face with oil. All the trendy, natural girls are doing it! I’ve talked to many woman who have been doing this for a while, and they swear by it! I am starting this today. I am even going to be brave enough to put a “before” pic up of my pregnancy, hormonal acne. Ewww…here it is:

This is my “Oh my gosh! I can’t believe I’m doing this!” face. Let’s get a closer look at those bumps.

And there are many more zits that you can’t even see in this picture! Here are the materials needed:

So that’s it. The only ingredients in my face “wash” is 100% castor oil and 100% grapeseed oil. Compare that to the ingredients in the face wash I was using: glycerin, sodium c14-16, olefin sulfonate, sodium laureth sulfate, decyl glucoside, cocamidopropyl betaine, lauric acid, betaine, peg-7 glyceryl cocoate, glyceryl oleate, sodium hydroxide, polyquaternium-7, menthol, disodium edta, bht, dmdm hydantoin, methylparaben, fragrance. WHOA! yuck! You can use many other different oils besides grapeseed oil. It’s up to you. Here is the blend I used: 30% castor oil and 70% grapeseed oil. I put the oils in that ratio in the glass bottle in the middle. It’s natural (2 ingredients!), frugal, and easy! Of course, let’s see if I have success with it, first. I’ll put up another picture of the progress in a week. Check out the link above to get the whole story and the how-to.

So who’s gonna join me in this greasy hair, oily face adventure?!?! I dare you.

Lastly, here’s an update. Adrienne and I painted the pumpkins that we got from the festival:

Happy Fall Everyone!

-kate

This entry was posted in Kate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Greasy hair, oily face, and a round belly…

  1. Sarah says:

    Yayyy for oil cleansing! An maybe I’ll give the no poo a try again 🙂

  2. Caroline Brown says:

    oh man. when i come home from my road trip, i am all over this. also, i had a friend who would wash her face with green tea bags. the actual bags….she would just wet it and rub them on her face. she had beautiful skin. have you heard of that? love you kate. you’re an inspiration. hope i can see you soon! 🙂

  3. Elise Welker says:

    Kate!
    I love your blog! It’s awesome to hear how you guys are living and just doing in general. I also just caught myself up on the previous blogs and just wanted to tell you that the couple i lived with before Brad and I got married did a natural home birth with a midwife as well and loved it. She has so many great things to say about it.
    It’s so great to hear yall are doing well!! Can’t wait for the next blog!

  4. Bailey says:

    My beautiful sister,
    You finally look like a legit pregnant woman! Haha your belly’s like got that perfect round thing going on. Haha but i love you and i would do this no shampoo thing iff i didnt have to see people every single day! … maybe this christmas break! Anyways, I miss you and love you and Nathan and the little guy in there!
    LOVE,
    Bailey

  5. Jess says:

    Oh girl you are daring. I want to try the oil cleanse method, but not sure when. also, I’m just gonna be honest and say I’m slightly skeptical on hair ‘don’t wash your hair for a month’. I’m not sure I could stand it because not washing it all week in Africa was pretty disgustin, but that may also be because I was sweating lots everyday, so maybe the cool weather/winter time is the best time to do it. I’m curious to see how it goes.

    ALSO, my niece/nephew is looking SO healthy! I pray for precious baby all the time and I am so so so stinkin’ excited.

    I love you sister.

  6. Heather says:

    Hey Kate!
    I just found your blog, which is exciting.
    And then I found out you were pregnant, which is even more exciting.
    And then I found out you are trying the OCM and NoPoo, which makes me ecstatic.
    I have been wanting to do both of those for awhile now so I am so excited to see how it goes for you.

  7. Ben says:

    Yet another home-run for Mrs. Bechtold. Nice blog

  8. Lori Safstrom says:

    let’s just see. and i WANT to see. i had terrible acne during pregnancy. i hope this cures for next time around. u so prity.

  9. Jessica Mooney says:

    Kate, I am thoroughly intrigued by this and want to start ASAP! Thanks so much for posting it!
    I love this cute little blog of y’alls and love reading how things are going.
    🙂
    Jessica

  10. adrienne (your sister) says:

    you should write a book…seriously

Your thoughts here. As long as they're not vulgar. Or spam.

