about the hair…

*UPDATE – Due to the unknown whereabouts of our digital camera, no belly pictures can be posted today. As soon as we find it, you’ll know…because you’ll see pictures!*

 

I’m a failure. I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t make it a full month without washing my hair. I made it a FULL TWO WEEKS, however. At the two-week mark, I was examining my scalp, and we had some serious issues. I don’t know exactly what it was: dandruff, build-up, dried-up oil flakes (ew, sorry), who knows. All I know is that I couldn’t take it anymore. My in-laws would be arriving any minute when I discovered it, and I had to do something before they got here. I started researching online all kinds of natural remedies using baking soda, apple cider vinegar, etc. I was determined to try everything except shampoo. Well, I tried a few things, but to nothing worked. So in a frenzy, I reached into the back corners of my cabinets and pulled out the shampoo I had put away, hoping to eventually throw out. Good news is: it’s a natural brand that I trust. So, in the end, I don’t think I am giving up shampoo yet. BUT, going 2 weeks without washing my hair was so good for it, like a detox or something. My hair is so silky smooth after all that. AND, it doesn’t get as greasy as fast as it used to. I definitely don’t need to wash it everyday, not even every other day, not even every 2 or 3 days! I wash it now every 4 days! That’s how long it takes to get gross. Of course, on that last day, it does go up in a pony tail. So this experiment was totally worth it. I have been able to get my hair regime simplified down to a more low-maintenance, cheaper operation. I hope to one day maybe try again if I can figure out the scalp problems. I know of so many people who have done this successfully, so I know it’s possible. Any suggestions from anyone who has made it work??? Okay, so I am SO SICK of talking about hair! My belly is so massive right now, so I’m going to get someone to take a good pic of me today so I can post it. Also, more later on the oil cleanse, which I am loving….:) We have been super busy here around the Ozark House. We’ve had company, parties, work, school, and I am officially in nesting mode around here! I’ll post a pic later today.

-kate

This entry was posted in Kate. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to about the hair…

  1. Sarah says:

    I couldn’t do it either! But that detox does sound like a good halfway option. I can’t wait to hear more about how you’re liking the Oil Cleanse Method!

  2. Friend Mouse says:

    Bet you’re glad the in-laws are gone! One more day and they would have “poned” you in the card game of Golf.

  3. I was rooting for you! I think you still achieved a small victory, though– shinier hair and getting to go four days from now on before washing it.

  4. benandrobin says:

    I have a confession… I’ve been doing the oil cleanse for 10 days and I am also loving it. Can’t wait to hear more from you about that. Also….I can’ twit to see new belly pics! I think you gave me baby fever when we saw you. Too bad Ben didn’t catch it, too…. Love you!

  5. Lindsay says:

    Hey Kate! Where did you purchase your grapeseed oil and the like?

  6. Jess says:

    girl, put up a pic of yo belly & yo face.

  7. Juliette says:

    This post made me laugh a lot.
    You crack me up.
    I’m glad you gave it a valiant effort! i hope to do the same one day!

Your thoughts here. As long as they're not vulgar. Or spam.

