I Don’t Eat Well So I Can live to be 100

I don’t do much now-a-days except sit in a chair to feed and rock my new beautiful, sweet, precious, amazing, little boy. In doing this, I have alot of time to think. Lately, something’s been weighing heavily on my heart. It’s the fact that I feel like I need to defend myself, in a way. Whenever I speak about how I eat, I feel as if I get strange looks. I don’t know if it’s because people think I’m rigid, weird, or obsessive compulsive. You see, I DO NOT eat well so that I can live a long life. I could die today, by reasons other than health and well-being. The length of my life is not in my hands. My aunt, who lived very healthily, eating the right foods and staying very active, got cancer and died well before she ever saw her children get married, have their own kids, and become “Grandma”. (I do believe, however, that our western way of life and eating correlates strongly with disease.) I eat well, not so I won’t get cancer and die. I have other reasons.

one. When I eat well, I feel well. When I eat crap, I feel like crap. I have a long history of headaches, fatigue, etc. Ever since I drastically changed my diet, I’ve noticed a change in the way I feel in the present. I feel energized. I get more done in the day. I’m able to serve others better. I fulfill my responsibilities. I have a better sense of well-being. I am in a better mood. This list could go on forever. Why did I have such an easy pregnancy? I believe most of it had to do with my diet. When I start to become sluggish in my eating habits, my body follows suit. I’m not able to serve others to the fullest. I feel tired and depressed. I get alot of headaches! A clean diet promotes a better quality of life for me.

two. When I eat the way I do, which includes making most things from scratch, eating ethically raised and grass-fed meats, drinking raw and unpasteurized milk, making bread from traditionally prepared grains (soaking and/or sprouting), making and eating fermented foods full of probiotics, staying away from processed foods full of additives, staying away from toxic fats and oils, and buying and eating produce that has not been drenched in chemicals (eventually eating our fresh produce from our own garden!), I feel a strong connection to God and this earth He created. It’s very spiritual for me. If I’m not being conscious of what goes into my mouth and where it came from, then I feel out of touch with God. That may sound weird to some, but it’s how my soul operates. So it’s very personal to me. I’m not saying if someone else doesn’t eat the way I do, then they’re out of touch with God. I simply believe God knew what He was doing when he provided food for us. Why change up His system with highly processed, unnatural foods?

three. To eat this way, I have to buy certain things, and not purchase others. I love this! I love supporting the farmers that take special care and consideration for their animals and crops, and I love NOT supporting those companies that abuse and mistreat their products and the land. You’ve heard it said before, but we “vote” with our dollars. I still have a long way to go in this area, mainly because of finances. This is one reason why we are trying to grow and raise our own food. This will really cut down the costs!

four. I do it for my child and future children. Nathan talked recently about how our children get no say in what happens to them in the first few years of their lives. It’s all up to us. I want to give them the best start in the years when they get no choice. After that, they can do as they please. This is why I spent the entire pregnancy trying to eat clean and taking care of myself. I’m nursing now, so I’m still trying to go at it strong.

five. I won’t elaborate too much, because this is somewhat controversial. I believe that eating and preparing foods this way is better for the environment and this world in an economical sense. I believe that I’m supporting farming practices that can help heal the earth.

six. I want to be a responsible steward of the body and family God has given to me.

I do hope that eating nutrient-dense foods helps bring me a long and healthy life. But this isn’t the main reason and it’s definitely not the most important one. And honestly, I haven’t been able to prepare, eat, and buy foods like I want. It’s been very hard! Unfortunately, this kind of lifestyle takes time, which I don’t have. I have a beautiful baby boy who doesn’t sleep much and whose favorite hobbies are to eat, cry, and be in his momma’s arms. 🙂 I LOVE LOVE LOVE this time with him, but I really miss being in the kitchen. I really HATE to admit that. So I haven’t done everything I want to do with food. But that’s okay in seasons like this, or especially when I’m someone’s guest and they want to serve me. I’m not turning away something made for me with love. But when I’m in my own home, I want to do my best to put only whole, unprocessed, organic, local, in season, and natural foods in my, my husband’s, and childrens’ mouths.

Of course, eating a healthy and conscious diet means something different to everyone. If you would like to know what I think the best way to eat is (not perfect yet…baby steps!), then check out these links:

The Weston A. Price Foundation

Deliciously Organic

The Healthy Home Economist

GNOWFGLINS

Nourishing Traditions

A special thanks to my son for taking a long (long for him is 30 minutes, by the way) nap so that I could type this.

This entry was posted in Kate and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I Don’t Eat Well So I Can live to be 100

  1. Jennie Simpson says:

    Kate, Saylor is so precious. Give him a big hug for me. Hope to see you soon.

  2. Ivy says:

    Are those FuzziBuns? I LOVED cloth diapers. I can’t wait for another baby so I can use them again. I appreciated your post. I am learning soooo much about nutrition and it was encouraging to read what you wrote!

  3. JuJu says:

    you were right jess, I loved this post.

    amen, sister, again i say amen, amen, amen to every last word! took the words right out of my mouth!

    and i miss saylor. he’s just too precious

  4. mark bales says:

    Good for you girl!!!!! I’m an old man now and my son has a wife that cooks him good healthy food and I’m very thankfull for her. One of the things that I would like to do when I retier is to have a garden and put up food for my kids and there familys so they have good home grown stuff to eat.
    Take care and may God bless you and yours, M. Bales

  5. friendmouse says:

    Not to be a “discouragement,” Kate, but ‘twould appear that Saylor is following in his daddy’s footsteps! He rarely slept more that 30 minutes for a nap, and he quit his naps altogether in his “twos,” if memory serves me. Never slept all night long for at least a couple of years. He just didn’t require much sleep, which in many ways can be a good thing. ..just not for you right now. All times fun!

  6. Kristin Rucker says:

    I really enjoyed this post and agree whole heartly with it! I have in the past year started to eat towards this direction as well, but recently have become discourage because it can be difficult to maintain with a busy life style. You’re post has encourage and inspired me to continue! Thanks!

  7. Gina R. Morreale says:

    Kate! So…this is random. But i just got this email and thought it would be fun for you to try out any of this OR i was wondering if you had already tried out any of this. Eating great = awesomeness, but this little article had all these ways you could use a cucumber. ha ha, it sounds fun and interesting. i dont know if any of its true. after i read it, i thought of you and your household of friends! maybe im an amateur but i just thought it’d be fun to send to you. It’s not ALL about eating, but its about CUCUMBERS!

    1. Cucumbers contain most of the vitamins you need every day, just one cucumber contains Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B6, Folic Acid, Vitamin C, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium and Zinc.

    2. Feeling tired in the afternoon, put down the caffeinated soda and pick up a cucumber. Cucumbers are a good source of B Vitamins and Carbohydrates that can provide that quick pick-me-up that can last for hours.

    3. Tired of your bathroom mirror fogging up after a shower? Try rubbing a cucumber slice along the mirror, it will eliminate the fog and provide a soothing, spa-like fragrance.

    4. Are grubs and slugs ruining your planting beds? Place a few slices in a small pie tin and your garden will be free of pests all season long. The chemicals in the cucumber react with the aluminum to give off a scent undetectable to humans but drive garden pests crazy and make them flee the area.

    5. Looking for a fast and easy way to remove cellulite before going out or to the pool? Try rubbing a slice or two of cucumbers along your problem area for a few minutes, the phytochemicals in the cucumber cause the collagen in your skin to tighten, firming up the outer layer and reducing the visibility of cellulite. Works great on wrinkles too.

    6. Want to avoid a hangover or terrible headache? Eat a few cucumber slices before going to bed and wake up refreshed and headache free. Cucumbers contain enough sugar, B vitamins and electrolytes to replenish essential nutrients the body lost, keeping everything in equilibrium, avoiding both a hangover and headache.

    7. Looking to fight off that afternoon or evening snacking binge? Cucumbers have been used for centuries and often used by European trappers, traders and explorers for quick meals to thwart off starvation.

    8. Have an important meeting or job interview and you realize that you don’t have enough time to polish your shoes? Rub a freshly cut cucumber over the shoe, its chemicals will provide a quick and durable shine that not only looks great but also repels water.

    9. Out of WD 40 and need to fix a squeaky hinge? Take a cucumber slice and rub it along the problematic hinge, and voila, the squeak is gone.

    10. Stressed out and don’t have time for a massage, facial or visit to the spa? Cut up an entire cucumber and place it in a boiling pot of water, the chemicals and nutrients from the cucumber with react with the boiling water and be released in the steam, creating a soothing, relaxing aroma that has been shown the reduce stress in new mothers and college students during final exams.

    11. Just finished a business lunch and realize you don’t have gum or mints? Take a slice of cucumber and press it to the roof of your mouth with your tongue for 30 seconds to eliminate bad breath. The phytochemcials will kill the bacteria in your mouth responsible for causing bad breath.

    12. Looking for a ‘green’ way to clean your faucets, sinks or stainless steel? Take a slice of cucumber and rub it on the surface you want to clean, not only will it remove years of tarnish and bring back the shine, but it won’t leave streaks and won’t harm your fingers or fingernails while you clean.

    13. Using a pen and made a mistake? Take the outside of the cucumber and slowly use it to erase the pen writing, also works great on crayons and markers that the kids have used to decorate the walls.

Your thoughts here. As long as they're not vulgar. Or spam.

