Sourdough: the solution to all the world’s problems

We make our own bread products in this house, and rely heavily on commercial yeast from the grocery store. Not only is the stuff expensive, it’s not self-sustaining, since you have to keep buying it to keep making bread. I discovered how to make my own yeast by simply mixing flour and water and letting the mixture spontaneously capture wild yeast from the air (like a little yeast trap!).

Now I use this yeast to bake. Voila! – sourdough!

Sourdough is not really a thing. It’s just that the dough sours while you’re letting the natural yeast accumulate and when the bread is rising. Tasty!

Everything I’m learning about sourdough right now is from an e-book I bought at GNOWFGLINS. It was $20, and it has already been worth the money. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

–First, I had to make the sourdough “starter” (the “yeast trap”).

—–In a glass jar, I mixed 1/4 cup water, and 3/8 cup flour, and covered it loosely with a cloth.

—–Every 12 hours, for the next two weeks, I “fed” it with those same amounts of water and flour, but I would remove half of the existing concoction from the jar before adding new flour/water (so I didn’t end up with tons of it – the point is not to increase quantity, but to multiply the bacteria).

—–Once I saw bubbles, I knew it was good to bake with! This took between one and two weeks. (Note: using anti-bacterial products to clean your kitchen is no good for starting sourdough. Bacteria can be good! And if you kill them all, there will be no yeast to trap!)

Then the baking began!

So far, I have made:

1) Sourdough pancakes (forgot to take a picture of these…but they looked pretty much like normal pancakes, except that Nathan likes chocolate chips in his)

2) Sourdough english muffins (on the griddle!)

These were fat and tasty, and so easy to make.

3) Sourdough pizzas!

You can tell they're tasty, since they were almost half gone before the picture was taken.

Future sourdough projects include: bread (rising/souring as I type this today), tortillas, pita bread, rolls, waffles, crepes, crackers, biscuits, muffins, cookies, scones, cakes, hamburger buns, etc,etc, ETC!!!

Health Benefits

Sourdough is great, because every person’s “starter” is their own – it is unique, and it is yours to keep, grow, and feed indefinitely! But there are also health benefits to using sourdough. Here’s a snippet from my e-book on why sourdough is so healthy.

“It is an ecosystem of wild yeasts and beneficial bacteria that work together to add B-vitamins to grains, to break down gluten for better digestion, and to neutralize phytic acid and enzyme inhibitors. The sourdough starter’s organisms are much more versatile with regard to temperature or other conditions, and the bread doesn’t stale as quickly.”

Phytic acid breakdown is hugely important. Phytates bond to certain nutrients in breads, prohibiting your body from absorbing them. So when phytic acid is broken down (through using sourdough, or by soaking your non-sourdough bread in an acid medium – I might have to post about that eventually), the nutrients become more accessible!

Additionally, just like other cultured and fermented foods (like yoghurt), there are beneficial bacteria in sourdough that are good for the digestive and immune systems.

Good, and good for you!

In Other News…

We picked the season’s first blackberries on Thursday! They’re tart, but I think the later ones will be sweeter.

We found the summer's first blackberry harvest on Thursday! They're a little tart, but still tasty!

They went into a smoothie with some homegrown strawberries (which are still smallish and softish, because the plants are still young), a handful of frozen store-bought berries, yoghurt, a banana, and of course ice.

Also, Nathan and Saylor and I went on a hike through the woods yesterday! We picked off lots of ticks, and scrubbed real good in the shower afterwards, but it was a fun time (and we found more blackberries).

My boys

He slept for an hour in the backpack

That’s all for now! Thanks for reading!

-Kate

This entry was posted in Kate and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sourdough: the solution to all the world’s problems

  1. N&K Sister says:

    I can’t help but squeal/laugh when I see the kid!

    Also sister, you are one genius woman when it comes to food.

  2. How cool! I had no idea sourdough starter was that easy to make. Do you use warm water? Also, do the windows have to be open to “catch” the yeast or anything? Great post, and adorable baby pictures. He looks so peaceful in that backpack!

  3. friendmouse says:

    I’m hungry now. And I’m also enthusiastically anticipating eating some of your homemade stuff, AND fresh, wild blackberries..yum, YUM! One week away!

  4. Mark Bales says:

    Boy do those english muffins look good . I go on a Mississippi River trip every year with a bunch of guise and I am the chief cook I think those would be perfect to make. I cook cornbread on a skillet , but those muffins would win the prize!!!!!

Your thoughts here. As long as they're not vulgar. Or spam.

