A Sonnet – For you, the voluptuous object of my longing

Enframed by thorned necessity,
Your darkened beauty tempts me from the vine.
Outreached, my hand would seize upon
A fleeting chance to savor the divine.
And yet your poisoned barbs give pause
In my determination to advance.
Now hesitant, should I withdraw
My love, my limb, endangered by the lance?
Through with thought,
Filled with dread,
Now resolved
I plunge ahead.
Pain.
Blood.
Prize.
Taste.
repeat

This entry was posted in Nathan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Sonnet – For you, the voluptuous object of my longing

  1. Mark Bales says:

    Went berry pick en today and can appreciate the poem. Probably go again in the AM. OO they are so good.

  2. Christina says:

    Blackberries? Are those in season in the US right now? I forget…Ours don’t come until late summer here.

Comments are closed.