Too much

It’s been quite a long time since I wrote anything; this has been the busiest time of my life—since February. Our daughter spent five days in the hospital with MRSA, I’ve completed the biggest editorial project I have worked on to date, and I’ve somehow managed to juggle 4 different jobs (one of them full-time).

Sadly, however, we’ve come to a point that I must get rid of Ozark, my English Shepherd.

He has bitten two people this year. Neither bite caused long-term damage; and both were under pretty unique circumstances, when he was extremely frightened/excited and someone took hold of him. But both did cause hand/wrist puncture wounds that had to be immediately treated at the ER.

I simply do not have the will nor the time nor the ability to work with what appears to be a combination of psychological and behavioral issues he has.

I’m not sure how it came to this. I might have been too hard on him at times; on the other hand, he’s always been a somewhat skittish, excitable dog, since the day we got him as an 8-week-old pup.

A traditional adoption avenue is not feasible, as he does not have a particularly stellar history. He is, however, a very fun dog, who just needs the opportunity to be very active with a very strong leader. He’s the most athletic dog I’ve ever seen, and he’s very protective of his home and family. In spite of the two recent incidents, he’s not a dog that suddenly turns on people or attacks; but he is pretty bossy, and I think somewhat prone to reacting with a bite if he gets scared or extremely excited (for example, one a couple of occasions, he was fixating on our ducks and chasing them; I grabbed his collar and he turned and put his teeth on my wrist… no puncture, but a clear attempt to run the show).

It will take a special place for him, and I hope we can find one soon. I don’t want to put him down, as I think he has a lot of great qualities. But I can not trust him around my young children, and I do not have the time or ability to train him properly.

I welcome any suggestions about where he might be placed.

This entry was posted in Nathan. Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts here. As long as they're not vulgar. Or spam.

