Innovations Indoors And Out

Just Peckin' Around

No, I did not forget about this blog.

How could I? I love words. The search for the perfect moment, the rhythmic syllable punctuating a painstakingly crafted movement… the playful alliteration, carefully coy, like a laughing daffodil dancing in an early-spring snowstorm… the concrete imagery neither too sparse nor pretentiously purple.

I criticize all the writing I read or hear. Even my own. The task keeps me hopefully humble and ever searching for the perfect moment—for what C.S. Lewis would call “the thing itself.”

I write and edit for a living. It’s one of the best jobs I could imagine having. But sometimes the topics can be tiresome and I long for the farm… to dirty my hands in it, and then to take my hands to a keyboard to try to paint it, the way I paint.

This blog is a place for me to test my writing: to paint my favorite subjects. And it’s a useful way to watch our farm and family grow and change.

But I’m (mainly) done writing for this post. Here are some photos (with captions) of life lately:

This entry was posted in Nathan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Innovations Indoors And Out

  1. momnoa says:

    It is really good to hear from you again. It looks like you have been very busy.

  2. Mark bales says:

    Nice to hear from you again.

  3. Daniel says:

    Good to see the new post. Your “pond scoop” is also known in some parts as a “poor man’s loader.” I was glad to have one years ago. I used it as you have yours hooked up, to push it into piles of dirt, gravel, etc and scoop it up to move it. I used mine to haul rocks and firewood. You can also hook it up to pull it and dig or scoop out a ditch or pond.

    Have you considered earthbag construction for your dream home?

    • Hi Daniel,
      I’ve not heard of “earthbag” construction. I’m familiar with rammed-earth tires in earthships (there’s one just a few minutes up the road from us, actually!), straw-bale homes, and cob. I’ve been looking into timber-frame, because I like the beauty of it, but I know it would take some training, time, and more technical skill I think. I definitely have been looking into dirt floors, and we have some other specifics in mind. Do you have a link to info about earthbags?

      • Daniel says:

        A quick Google search yields 181,000 links. The best book I’ve read on the subject is “Earthbag Building” by Kako Hunter and Donald Killmeyer. the book is very informative and well illustrated. I have also seen some really good videos on You tube of people building with earthbags. A young couple in Oklahoma does a blog about their holistic farming and building of an earthbag home. The title of the blog escape me at the moment. While I have no personal experience with earthbag construction at this time, I am would like to travel to OK or somewhere closer by to see the technique and, perhaps, participate in a build.
        Enjoy!

Your thoughts here. As long as they're not vulgar. Or spam.

